Home early

When I worked for CFI I was never really happy with their home time system. You would tell HQ at least 10 days in advance when you wanted to be home and they had a five day window in which to get you there. So, on the first of April I could ask for home time and I might be home from the sixth through the fifteenth.

Hill Bros has been a breath of fresh air in this regard. In the past two years I’ve only had two occasions I can remember where they weren’t able to get me home on the actual day (the actual day!) I requested, though sometimes I’ve had to deadhead home 150-200 miles which I find to be excessive.

I had asked to be home this weekend from Friday to Monday and ordinarily that would mean I would get a load Friday morning heading to Kansas City, or Carthage, Missouri or even Springfield, where I live. Instead, I was planned for a series of short runs (Ames, Iowa to Omaha, Nebraska, then Omaha to Olathe, Kansas, then Olathe to Carthage) that got me back to my haunts on Thursday.

Good news on the money front: my latest settlement shows 3,837 miles for the week and just over $2,000 to the bank account, despite a higher-than-average fuel bill. I saw a message over the satellite unit the other day saying they were backed up with freight so it would seem the economy is picking up smartly.